Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In
Search
Sign In


Forgot your password?

Haven't registered yet?

Breaking News
Calendar
NIOSH-OSAP Grant
This will serve as the repository of documents for the NIOSH-OSAP infection prevention and safety initiative.

Who | What | Why | When | How | Documents



#WHO
 #WHAT
#WHY
#WHEN - Conference Calls 1-888-387-8686 code: 8377469#
  • Thursday, September 27, 2012 at 11 am Eastern (10 am Central, 9 am Mountain, 8 am Pacific)
  • Thursday, October 4, 2012 at 11 am Eastern (10 am Central, 9 am Mountain, 8 am Pacific)
#HOW
#DOCUMENTS

Literature Search DRAFT TABLE Relevant studies sorted by publication date
JDE April 2012 Dental Students and Bloodborne Pathogens: Occupational Exposures, Knowledge and Attitudes
PLoS April 2012 Factors Affecting Occupational Exposure to Needlestick and Sharps Injuries among Dentists in Taiwan: A Nationalwide Survey
Related Abstracts Summary of related abstracts AND  Summary #2
Infection Control & Hosp Epi June 2011 Sharps Injuries among Employees of Acute Care Hospitals in Massachusetts, 2002-2007
JDE 2009 Underreporting of Bloodborne Exposures in a Dental School Clinic
Brazil 2009 Compliance with occupational post-exposure protocol for injuries among dental surgeons
Original Lit Review for project Description and supporting studies for original grant proposal
OSAP Survey Construction Practice Description Question Draft questions per Bev Isman (Sept 19)
Data Collection Tools MA Dept of Public Health: BBP Exposure Incident Recording Form http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/docs/dph/occupational-health/bbpexpincirepform.pdf

This tool was developed to assist hospitals in collecting data about BBP exposure incidents and to standardize data collection. It is in MSWord and it can be tailored to fit the needs of the facility. MDPH does not require that this form be used to collect information, but many hospitals have found it to be useful. A subset of the data collected on this form for sharps injuries is submitted to MDPH each year using the Annual Summary of Sharps Injuries.

MA Dept of Public Health: Annual Summary of Sharps Injuries

http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/docs/dph/occupational-health/annual-summary-sharp-injuries.xls
This tool was developed to provide a mechanism for hospitals to collect data on sharps injuries and submit it annually to MDPH in a standardized manner. There are tabs across the bottom of the workbook that provide pick-lists for the different variables in the worksheet. Hospitals must report these variables to MDPH on an annual basis.

Objective A:
Inventory existing exposure control plans in dental healthcare settings


Project Documents

 Link to Webinar "Advancing Sharps Safety Compliance in Non-Hospital Healthcare Settings"

 



Placeholders...

Research outcomes of OSHA stakeholders' meetings in July.  Any relevance to this project? http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/FR-2011-07-05/html/2011-16742.htm

The Joint Commission & NORA: Identifying Synergies presentation (7/12/11)



Objective B: Determine if exposure control plan or other resource is actively used to prevent occupational exposures


Project Documents
 

 


   
 



OSAP Disclaimer | Please notify our webmaster of any problems with this website.
OSAP thanks its Super Sponsors for their support in 2016. Sponsorship does not imply endorsement by OSAP of a company's products or services.