Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In
Sign In

Breaking News
OSAP Awards end 9-2-2014




Dr. James J. Crawford Award

Nominees should have made major contributions in science, education, or public policy related to OSAP's core competencies of dental infection control, office safety and occupational health. This award, named in honor of one of the founding fathers of dental infection control, recognizes lifetime achievement in the field.


Jennifer Harte DDS MS

Recipient of the 2012
Dr. James J. Crawford Award

(Pictured left, presenting the award: John Molinari PhD)

Dr. Jennifer Harte retired in May 2012, after 20 years of service, from the United States Air Force in the grade of Colonel. She served as the Military Consultant to the Air Force Surgeon General for Dental Infection Control for 10 years. Dr. Harte was responsible for the direct oversight of dental and medical infection control programs in military health-care clinical settings for over 19 years.

Following graduation from the University of Detroit School of Dentistry, Dr. Harte completed a general practice residency at the Medical College of Ohio where she also received her Master of Science degree in Biomedical Sciences/Oral Biology. She was in private practice before beginning her career with the USAF. Dr. Harte served as the course director of the Air Force-OSAP Dental Infection Prevention Course from 2002-2012 and recently joined the Editorial Review Team for OSAP's Infection Control in Practice publication. She completed an Advanced Education in General Dentistry Program (AEGD-2) and is a Diplomate of the America Board of General Dentistry.

Dr. Harte received a certificate in Dental Infection Control and Occupational Safety and Health after completing a one-year fellowship at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention in Atlanta, GA. Dr. Harte has presented both nationally and abroad on dental infection control and published peer-reviewed articles, textbook chapters and abstracts. She is a co-author of the CDC Guidelines for Infection Control in Dental Health-Care Settings, 2003 and the text Cottone's Practical Infection Control in Dentistry.

Previous honorees:

1998: James J. Crawford PhD
1999: John Molinari PhD
2000: Robert Runnells DDS
2001: Walter W. Bond MS RCSA
2002: Herman H. Langkamp III MS
2003: Chris Miller PhD
2004: John Young DDS MSc
2005: Donald Marianos DDS MPH
2006: Robert Kolstad PhD
2007: Sam Rosen PhD
2008: William Rutala PhD MPH
2009: Eve Cuny RDA MS
2010: A. Enrique Acosta-Gio DDS PhD
2011: Jennifer Cleveland DDS MPH 
2012: Jennifer Harte DDS MS

Back to Top

Dr. Milton E. Schaefer Superior Service Award

This award named after one of the founding members of OSAP, recognizes superior service to the organization and may recognize either continuous contributions over a period of time or singular accomplishments. The nominee's efforts should have resulted in tangible benefits to the continuing advancement of OSAP's mission to be Dentistry's Resource for Infection Control and Safety. Nominees may be either HCPs or corporate members.


Karen Gregory RN

Recipient of the 2013
Dr. Milton E. Schaefer Award

Karen Gregory RN was presented with the 12th Annual Dr. Milton E. Schaefer Superior Service Award.

Ms. Gregory was selected for the award for her extraordinary contributions to the organization. One example of her commitment was when she filled in, on a moment's notice, at a major OSAP conference when the scheduled lecturer was forced to cancel due to a death in the family. Despite the short notice, she delivered a compelling lecture and was rated as one of the best speakers at the conference.

Ms. Gregory has served on several OSAP committees including the NIOSH grant, annual session programming and access-to-care committees and is a member of the Infection Control in Practice editorial review board. She presented on OSAP's behalf at the 2012 HDA, NDA and SAID Multicultural Oral Health Summit and is always willing to contribute to any project or opportunity that OSAP has requested. Ms. Gregory continually embodies the spirit of volunteerism that Dr. Schaefer espoused.

Ms. Gregory has more than 20 years of experience in the outpatient environment delivering patient care and serving in a management capacity. She is currently the director of compliance and education for Total Medical Compliance and is a requested speaker at medical and dental meetings on both a local and state level. She was elected in June to serve on the OSAP board of directors.

Previous honorees:

2002: Milton Schaefer DDS MLA
2003: Mel Rouse
2004: Shannon Mills DDS
2005: Charles John Palenik PhD MS MBA
2006: Kathy Eklund RDH MHP
2007: Gayle MacDonald PhD
2008: Jennifer Cleveland DDS MPH
2009: Andy Whitehead
2010: Nancy Tomich Zapp and Lois Cohen PhD
2011: John Hunt OBE FFGDP(UK) BDS
2012: Cheryl Wolf CDA BS

Back to Top


James A. Cottone Award for Excellence in Investigative Research

This award is named for one of the founders of OSAP who exemplified the best in infection control and safety research.


Pictured right:
Evandro Watanabe PhD
Recipient of the 2008
Dr. James A. Cottone Award

(Pictured left, presenting the award:
Shannon Mills DDS FAGD FICD)

Evandro Watanabe PhD is the recipient of the 2008 Dr. James A. Cottone Award for his research poster entitled "Dental Unit Water: Contamination with Oral Bacteria After Flushing Water." There was no recipient in 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012.

Previous honorees:

1999: Ruby Singh
2000: Kathleen O'Keefe RN
2001: Charles John Palenik PhD
2002: Nuala Porteous DDS and Robert Cooley DMD MS
2003: Joyce M. Galligan RN DDS
2004: Enrique Acosta-Gio DDS PhD
2005: Ralph Leonard DDS MPH
2007: Charles Palenik PhD MS MBA
2008: Evandro Watanabe PhD

Back to Top


Bette and Paul Schwarz Award for Volunteerism

This award, named in honor of the Schwarz's for their innumerable contributions of time and service to the OSAP Symposium, recognizes volunteers who go over-and-above in helping the organization achieve its goals through their volunteer service.


Susan Bailey

Recipient of the 2013
Bette and Paul Schwarz Award

Sue Bailey was the recipient of the 11th Annual Bette & Paul Schwarz Award, which recognizes achievements in volunteerism. Named after a dynamic duo who selflessly contribute their time and resources to managing all of the volunteer activities associated with OSAP's Annual Symposium, the award honors the top volunteer from the previous year's symposium.

While not an official member of the oral healthcare field, Ms. Bailey is dedicated to dental safety. She volunteers with her sister, Jean Wolff, RDH, MSEd, to successfully manage OSAP's most significant fundraiser, the annual auction. She has traveled to past symposia, always arriving early and tirelessly working through the week to ensure all the details are handled for a successful event.

Previous honorees:

2003: Bette Schwarz LPN CDA and her husband, Paul
2004: Claire Pagliara RN MSN PhD and her son, Jeff
2005: Sharon Dickinson CDA CDPMA
2006: Helene Bednarsh RDH MPH
2007: Teresa Ludwig MT
2008: Cheryl Wolf BS CDA
2009: Jean Wolff RDH MEd
2010: Matt Deck
2011: Linda Basquill DDS
2012: Pamela Head and Norma Rychwalski


Back to Top


OSAP wishes to recognize and thank Crosstex International
for its generous support of these prestigious awards.





OSAP Disclaimer | Please notify our webmaster of any problems with this website.
OSAP thanks its Super Sponsors for their support in 2018. Sponsorship does not imply endorsement by OSAP of a company's products or services.