Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In
Sign In

Breaking News
News & Press: Press Releases

OSAP Honors Outstanding Commitment

Thursday, July 18, 2013   (0 Comments)

ANNAPOLIS, MD—July 18, 2013—The Organization for Safety, Asepsis and Prevention (OSAP) recently honored its annual award recipients for outstanding commitment to its mission for the safe and infection-free delivery of oral healthcare. Karen Gregory, RN, and Sue Bailey were recognized for their contributions to superior service and volunteerism, respectively, at the OSAP Annual Symposium, June 14, in San Diego, CA.

Karen Gregory was presented with the 12th Annual Dr. Milton E. Schaefer Superior Service Award, named for a legendary founding member of OSAP in recognition of superior service to the organization.

Ms. Gregory was selected for the award for her extraordinary contributions to the organization. One example of her commitment was when she filled in, on a moment’s notice, at a major OSAP conference when the scheduled lecturer was forced to cancel due to a death in the family. Despite the short notice, she delivered a compelling lecture and was rated as one of the best speakers at the conference.

Ms. Gregory has served on several OSAP committees including the NIOSH grant, annual session programming and access-to-care committees and is a member of the Infection Control in Practice editorial review board. She presented on OSAP’s behalf at the 2012 HDA, NDA and SAID Multicultural Oral Health Summit and is always willing to contribute to any project or opportunity that OSAP has requested. Ms. Gregory continually embodies the spirit of volunteerism that Dr. Schaefer espoused.

Ms. Gregory has more than 20 years of experience in the outpatient environment delivering patient care and serving in a management capacity. She is currently the director of compliance and education for Total Medical Compliance and is a requested speaker at medical and dental meetings on both a local and state level. She was elected in June to serve on the OSAP board of directors.

Sue Bailey was the recipient of the 11th Annual Bette & Paul Schwarz Award, which recognizes achievements in volunteerism. Named after a dynamic duo who selflessly contribute their time and resources to managing all of the volunteer activities associated with OSAP’s Annual Symposium, the award honors the top volunteer from the previous year’s symposium. While not an official member of the oral healthcare field, Ms. Bailey is dedicated to dental safety. She volunteers with her sister, Jean Wolff, RDH, MSEd, to successfully manage OSAP’s most significant fundraiser, the annual auction. She has traveled to past symposia, always arriving early and tirelessly working through the week to ensure all the details are handled for a successful event.

About OSAP

The Organization for Safety, Asepsis and Prevention is the world’s leading membership association exclusively dedicated to preventing disease transmission and ensuring the safe and infection-free delivery of oral healthcare for all. As a nonprofit organization, OSAP helps dental practitioners close the gap between policy and practice. Its members include dental and other healthcare professionals, consultants, researchers and non-governmental organizations, manufacturing and distribution companies, policy makers, and academia. For more information, visit




OSAP Disclaimer | Please notify our webmaster of any problems with this website.
OSAP thanks its Super Sponsors for their support in 2018. Sponsorship does not imply endorsement by OSAP of a company's products or services.