Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In
Sign In

Breaking News
2020 OSAP Leadership Award Nominations


2020 OSAP Leadership Award Nominations

Go back to Virtual Conference homepage


Help Us Honor Infection Control Leaders

Each year, OSAP recognizes those who have made outstanding contributions to the field of dental infection prevention and safety. Nominate a colleague today for the 2020 OSAP Leadership Awards. The nomination deadline is Friday, June 11Awardees will be recognized at the OSAP Virtual Conference on August 13 – 15, 2020.


Nominations are now closed.


2020 OSAP Leadership Awards


This award, named in honor of one of the founding fathers of dental infection control, recognizes lifetime achievement in the field. Nominees must have made major contributions in science, education, or public policy related to OSAP’s core competencies of infection control and patient and provider safety.

Previous Crawford Lifetime Achievement Award Honorees:

2019: James A. Cottone, DMD, MS

2018: Shannon Mills, DDS

2017: Margaret Cottrell

2016: Kathy Eklund, RDH, MHP

2015: Therese Long, MBA, CAE

2014: Harold Jaffe, MD, MA, FFPH

2013: Michael Glick, DMD

2012: Jennifer Harte, DDS, MS

2011: Jennifer Cleveland, DDS, MPH

2010: A. Enrique Acosta-Gio, DDS, PhD

2009: Eve Cuny, RDA, MS

2008: William Rutala, PhD, MPH

2007: Sam Rosen, PhD

2006: Robert Kolstad, PhD

2005: Donald Marianos, DDS, MPH

2004: John Young, DDS, MSc

2003: Chris Miller, PhD

2002: Herman H. Langkamp III, MS

2001: Walter W. Bond, MS, RCSA

2000: Robert Runnells, DDS

1999: John Molinari, PhD

1998: James J. Crawford, PhD



This award is named after one of the founding members of OSAP and celebrates superior service to the organization recognizing either continuous contributions over period of time or singular accomplishments. The nominee’s efforts must have resulted in tangible benefits to the continuing advancement of OSAP’s mission to be the leading provider of infection prevention and control education, training, and credentialing that supports safe dental visits.

Previous Schaefer Superior Service Award Honorees:

2019: Eve Cuny, MS

2018: Helene Bednarsh, BS, RDH, MPH

2017: Douglas Risk, DDS, ABGD

2016: Douglas Braendle

2015: Henry Schein Dental and Patterson Dental

2014: AEGIS Communications

2013: Karen Gregory, RN

2012: Cheryl Wolf, CDA, BS

2011: John Hunt, OBE, FFGDP(UK), BDS

2010: Nancy Tomich Zapp and Lois Cohen, PhD

2009: Andy Whitehead

2008: Jennifer Cleveland, DDS, MPH

2007: Gayle MacDonald, PhD

2006: Kathy Eklund, RDH, MHP

2005: Charles John Palenik, PhD, MS, MBA

2004: Shannon Mills, DDS

2003: Mel Rouse

2002: Milton Schaefer, DDS, MLA



The goal for the Emerging Leaders Award is to help develop and promote the next generation of stars in the field of dental infection prevention and safety by identifying outstanding new infection control advocates. Nominees can be clinicians, educators, consultants, students, or members of the dental trade.

Previous Emerging Infection Control Leaders Award Honorees:

2019: Joyce Moore, RDH, BSDH, CRCST

2018: Hudson Garrett Jr., PhD., MSN, MPH, MBA, FNP-BC, PLNC, IP-BC, AS-BC, VA-BC™, NREMT, FACDONA, FAAPM

2017: Kandis Garland, RDH, MS

2016: Michele Junger, DDS, MPH

2015: Jessica Wilson, MPH


The final selection for all awards is made by the OSAP Board of Directors.


Nominations are now closed.

OSAP Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | Please notify our webmaster of any problems with this website.
OSAP thanks its Super Sponsors for their support in 2020. Sponsorship does not imply endorsement by OSAP of a company's products or services.

Benco Dental Darby Dental Supply